Marshall District Library Board of Directors Regular Meeting March 14, 2023

The regular meeting of the Marshall District Library was called to order by President Ann Fitzpatrick at 7:03 pm.

Roll call was read by Secretary, Joanne Davis.

Members present: Martha Frohm, Kara Boughton, MJ Harting-Minkwic, Ann Fitzpatrick, Mary Fountain, and Joanne Davis

Members Absent: Gerry Marshall

Others present: Angela Semifero and Nate Palmer

President Ann Fitzpatrick led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of Agenda:

MJ Harting-Minkwic made a motion to approve the agenda of the March 14, 2023 meeting, supported by Martha Frohm. Motion carried.

Approval of Minutes:

A motion to approve the minutes from February 14, 2023 made by Mary Fountain, supported by Kara Boughton. Motion carried.

Financial Report: Treasurer M.J. Harting-Minkwic previously reviewed the bills.

Bills: M.J. Harting-Minkwic made a motion on behalf of the Finance Committee to approve the February 7, 2023 through March 1, 2023 bills in the amount of \$80,960.98. All present voted yes.

Library Directors Report:

- Spice club is a huge hit and very popular, will still meet once a month
- The library was on the cover of the Advisor-Chronicle for March reading month
- A patron fell outside the library and hit her head but did not wish for the library to call for an ambulance. The patron does not wish to file a claim against the library's insurance.
- The programing department has started visiting schools for March reading month

Committee Reports:

- Building and Site did not meet
- Finance- did meet. Will meet April 11, 2023 at 6:50 pm.
- Personnel- did not meet

- Policy- did not meet

Unfinished business: None

New Business:

Board Officer Nominations

The slate of officers proposed for 2023-2024 is below. President: Ann Fitzpatrick Vice President: Gerry Marshall Secretary: Joanne Davis Treasurer: MJ Harting-Minkwic

No other nominations were suggested during the board meeting. A motion to approve the slate of officers proposed for 2023-2024 was made by Mary Fountain, supported by Martha Frohm. All present voted yes.

Treasury Waiver

A motion to approve the Michigan Department of Treasury Waiver application was made by MJ Harting-Minkwic, supported by Mary Fountain. All present voted yes. Angela Semifero (library director) will submit the waiver to the Department of Treasury.

Comments from board members:

Mary Fountain, MJ Harting-Minkwic, Kara Boughton, Ann Fitzpatrick, and Joanne Davis all stated they will miss Martha Frohm and her dedication to the library since this will be her last board meeting because her term has ended after serving three terms for the library.

Nate Palmer recalled that Eckford Township has had only three appointed board members representing their township and one of them has been Martha Frohm.

Angela Semifero has appreciated Martha Frohm's library support and understanding over the years.

Comments from the public: None

Meeting adjourned at 7:25 pm. The next meeting will be April 11, 2023.

Respectfully submitted, Joanne Davis, Secretary