Regular Board Meeting Minutes Marshall District Library April 12, 2022

The regular meeting of the Marshall District Library Board was called to order by President Ann Fitzpatrick at 7:02 pm.

Roll call was read by Secretary Joanne Davis.

Members present at the library: Kara Boughton, Ann Fitzpatrick, Mary Fountain, Martha Frohm, Gerry Marshall, and Joanne Davis.

Members Absent: M.J. Harting-Minkwic

Others present: Angela Semifero and Nate Palmer.

President Ann Fitzpatrick led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of Agenda: Kara Boughton made a motion to approve the agenda of the April 12, 2022 meeting. It was supported by Mary Fountain. Motion carried.

Approval of the minutes of the March 8, 2022 meeting: Martha Frohm made a motion to accept the minutes and it was supported by Kara Boughton. Motion carried.

Financial Report, including approval of bills: Martha Frohm, stepping in for Treasurer M.J. Harting-Minkwic, made a motion on behalf of the Finance Committee that everything was in order and to pay bills for March 2, 2022 to April 4, 2022 in the amount of \$83,546.75, supported by Mary Fountain. Roll call vote: all present at the library voted yes.

Jerry Marshall asked about the snow removal cost and the areas that require snow removal at the library.

Library Directors Report:

Director Semifero explained the points of her written report.

- Youth area back to normal with toys and furniture all put back on the floor
- Around 50 people attended the Pokemon Terrariums over spring break
- Water main leak was fixed
- Matt is continuing to gather information for email services and Microsoft upgrades. Possibly a 5013C would help with costs.
- There was a \$1,700 donation in memory of Elizabeth Huggett, who loved the library.

Committee Reports:

• Building and Site – did not meet

- Finance did meet. Will meet on May 10, 2022 at 6:45 pm
- Personnel did not meet
- Policy did not meet

Unfinished business: None

New Business:

Committee Appointments

A motion was made by Kara Boughton, supported by Martha Frohm to accept the board member committee appointments. All present voted yes. Motion carried.

Designate Depositories of Library funds

The current depositories for the library funds are Marshall Community Credit Union, Highpoint Bank, and Southern Michigan Bank & Trust. A motion was made by Mary Fountain, supported by Kara Boughton to approve the designated depositories of library funds. All present voted yes. Motion carried.

Designate Official Newspaper

Any official notices for the library must go to a designated newspaper. A motion was made by Kara Boughton, supported by Martha Frohm to approve the Marshall Advisor-Chronicle for official notices. All present voted yes. Motion carried.

Meeting Date Calendar

A motion was made by Kara Boughton, supported by Mary Fountain to approve the meeting date calendar for 2022-2023 as presented. All present voted yes. Motion carried.

August 9, 2022 September 13, 2022 October 11, 2022 November 8, 2022 December 13, 2022 January 10, 2023 February 14, 2023 March 14, 2023 April 11, 2023 – Annual Meeting

May 9, 2023

June 27, 2023 – Budget Adoption – last Tuesday of month

Authorize ACH vendor/payment list

A motion was made by Kara, supported by Mary Fountain to authorize ACH (Automated Clearing House) vendor/payment list as presented in the board packet dated April 12, 2022 on page 18. All present voted yes. Motion carried.

Per Diem

This is concerning whether board members would like to receive payment for their service on the board. A motion was made by Martha Frohm, there was no second motion for the board members to receive payment for their service on the board. The motion failed.

Comments from the board:

Jerry Marshall had a good experience with Matt in helping with his computer.

Mary Fountain expressed a great job to everyone.

Kara Boughton expressed that the newly appointed board officers were doing a great job.

Martha Frohm thought everyone was doing a job well done.

Comments from the public:

None

Meeting adjourned at 7:35 pm. The next meeting will be May 10, 2022.

Respectfully submitted, Joanne Davis, Secretary